Major - Standard, Intensive, or Joint

Philosophy is a major in the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences. Please review the General Education Requirements (GERs) for this major.

Standard Major

1. One course from each of the following four areas:

● Logic (PHIL 0500 or 1500)

● Ancient Philosophy (PHIL 0200, 1020, 1040, 1060, or 1070)

● Modern Philosophy (PHIL 0210, 1110, 1140, or 1170)

● Ethics/Value Theory (PHIL 0300, 0320, 0330, 0350, or any 13## except 1370)

Note that one area requirement must be taken at the 1000-level.

2. One philosophy writing course.

3. Four elective courses at the 1000-level.

4. A total of at least 24 credit hours in Philosophy completed with a grade of C or better.

Intensive Major

(The Intensive Major has no official standing. The course schedule below should be taken as a set of recommendations only.)

1. The following three courses (acceptable substitutes shown): PHIL 0500 (or 1500); 0200 (or 1020 or 1040); 0210 (or 1110 or 1140).

2. At least five 1000-level courses beyond those counted under 1 above; these five courses must include at least one course from each of the following four groups:

a. History of Philosophy (PHIL 1020-1190);
b. Value Theory (PHIL 1300-1390);
c. Metaphysics and Epistemology (PHIL 1420-1490)
d. Logic and Philosophy of Science (PHIL 1500-1690)

3. An acceptable senior paper. The student must sign up either for PHIL 1940 (3 crs.) or PHIL 1940 and 1941 (6 crs.) with the prior permission of a faculty member who has agreed to supervise the student's work. Neither PHIL 1940 nor 1941 counts toward the five 1000-level courses mentioned in 2 above.

4. A total of at least 36 credit hours in philosophy.

Joint Major

Joint majors are not double majors but multidisciplinary majors offered by two or more departments. Presently, the Department of Philosophy offers a joint major in Politics and Philosophy with the Department of Political Science. Students may also design their own joint major if they can secure the advice and consent of two faculty advisors, one from each of the participating departments.