Michael R. Bennett Prize in Philosophy

This prize honors the memory of Michael R. Bennett, who joined the faculty at the University of Pittsburgh in 1974, coming from UCLA, but died unexpectedly in 1978 at the age of 35. The prize is awarded to a graduate student paper that is found to be of extraordinary quality. Because the standards for the award are high, if no essay is judged to meet those standards, the award is not given out that year. Below is a list of past recipients, many of whom have gone on to extraordinary careers in philosophy. 

(Note: the list below may be incomplete. Please contact the webmaster if you can correct any omissions.)


Year Recipient 
2018 Stephen Mackereth and Larkin Philpot
2017 Laura Tomlinson
2015 Jonathan Buttaci
2014 Adam Marushak
2012 Ori Beck
2011 Timothy Willenken
2010 Ian Blecher
2006 Susanna Schellenberg
2005 Andrea Scarantino
2004 Stephen Puryear
2001  Doug Lavin
2000 Matt Boyle
1999 John MacFarlane
1998 Lisa Van Alstyne
1997 Tommie Shelby
1995 Logi Gunnarson
1994 Philip Kremer
1993 Iakovos Vasiliou
1992 Jonathan Mandel
1991 Katherine J. Nolan
1990 David Boonin
1989 Timothy van Gelder
Robert Pennock
1988 Mark Lance
1987 Anna Greco
1986 Charles Cross
1985 Joseph Shea
1984 Michael Kremer
1983 Charles Cross
1982 Patrick Maher
1981 Jay Garfield