Adam Marushak wins Bennett Prize
Congratulations to Adam Marushak. His essay, “Hypothetical Entitlement and the Epistemic Contribution of Convergence,” was selected as the 2014 Winner of the Michael R. Bennett Prize in Philosophy. The Michael R. Bennett Prize in Philosophy is made in honor of Michael Bennett who was a member of the Department from 1974 to 1979.
Nicholas Rescher Prize for Systematic Philosophy
The Philosophy Department is pleased to invite nominations for the Nicholas Rescher Prize for Systematic Philosophy. The nominations should be sent to Collie Henderson ( by July 15, 2014. The winner of the Prize will be announced in October 2014. LEARN MORE >
Congratulations to Kathryn Lindeman!
Kathryn was offered and accepted a tenure track position at St. Louis University. Congratulations Kathryn!
Congratulations to Katharina Nieswandt!
Katharina Nieswandt has won a 2014 Charlotte W. Newcombe Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship for her dissertation "In What Sense Are Rights Conventional?" This year the Newcombe Fellowship was awarded to only the top 4% of the applicants. Congratulations to Katharina!
Congratulations to Meghan Dupree
Meghan Dupree was hired by Loyola University Maryland. Before starting at Loyola, Meghan will take a one year postdoc at Baylor University (2014-15).
Philosophy Department Welcomes New Faculty
We are delighted to announce that Michael Caie and Jessica Gelber will by joining our department this fall. Michael works in Philosophical Logic, Philosophy of Language, and Formal Epistemology. Jessica works in Ancient Greek and Roman Philosophy.
Congratulations to Preston Stovall
Preston Stovall has been awarded a Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowship for his dissertation Existence, Essence, and Excellence: Modal Expressivism and Descriptive Metaphysics. Congratulations to Preston!
Congratulations to Karl Schafer
Congratulations to Karl Schafer, who has been awarded the Charles A. Ryskamp Research Fellowship by the ACLS. The fellowship provides two-semesters of research leave. During the leave Karl will work on his project Rationalism, Kantian Constructivism, and the Nature of Morality. LEARN MORE >
Frederick Neuhouser Talk
Frederick Neuhouser (Columbia) will give a talk titled "Hegel on Social Ontology and Social Pathology" on Friday, April 11, 2014 at 3:30 p.m. in 244-B Cathedral of Learning. LEARN MORE >
Topics in Philosophical Logic
The time for Michael Dunn's Thursday lectures has been changed to 9:30- 12:00. This is for the Thursday lecture only. Friday's will remain the same. LEARN MORE >
Provost Inaugural Lecture
Anil Gupta, Alan Ross Anderson Chair of Philosophy, will give a lecture titled "Some Refelctions on Empiricism" on Thursday, January 16, 2014 at 4:00 p.m. in Posvar Hall, Room 2500.
Congratulations to the following on their offers and acceptances for tenure track positions: James Pearson (Bridgewater State University), Alexandra Newton (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Stephen Puryear (North Carolina State), Brandon Hogan (Howard University), Kim Frost (Syracuse University) and Jennifer Frey (University of South Carolina). LEARN MORE >
Leibniz and Cryptography
On December 14, 2012, the University of Pittsburgh Library System opened an exhibition on "Leibniz and Cryptography" featuring the reconstruction of his cipher machine under the inititative of Nicholas Rescher.cipher LEARN MORE >
Bob Batterman has won a major grant!
Bob Batterman is the principal investigator for a three-year grant from the John Templeton Foundation for a project entitled "Bridging Across Scales: Emergence and Effective Theories." Co-investigators on the project are Mark Wilson, University of Pittsburgh, and Christopher Smeenk, University of Western Ontario. The total amount of the award is $510,000, which includes a $20,000 contribution from the Rotman Institute at the University of Western Ontario. Congratulations to Bob, Mark and Chris! LEARN MORE >
Sosa Inaugural Recipient of Pitt's Prestigious Rescher Prize
Professor Ernest Sosa has been awarded the Nicholas Rescher Prize for Contributions to Systematic Philosophy. Sosa is currently a Board of Governors Professor of Philosophy at Rutgers University. The prize will be awarded November 12, 2010. LEARN MORE >