Science Meets Philosophy: Hertz and Wittgenstein
Congratulations to Josh Eisenthal for his first place win in the University's Inaugural 3 Minute Thesis Competition (3MT).
Ori Beck
Congratulations to Ori Beck, who has accepted a four-year junior research fellowship at Christ's College, Cambridge University, U.K. LEARN MORE >
Katharina Nieswandt
Congratulations to Katharina Nieswandt. LEARN MORE >
Identity and Difference Conference
Alison Springle will be presenting her paper "A Problem for Merely Virtual (Intentional) Selves." LEARN MORE >
Love and Privacy
Raja Rosenhagen will be presenting at the 2015 CUA Graduate Student Conference on March 20. Topic: “Iris Murdoch on Love and Privacy.” LEARN MORE >
Cognitive Science Reading Group
The Pitt-CMU philosophy of cognitive science reading group now has a website. LEARN MORE >
Jane Friedman Talk
Jane Friedman (NYU) will give a talk on Friday, February 13, 2015 at 3:30 p.m. LEARN MORE >
Philosophy Department Welcomes New Faculty
The Philosophy Department is pleased to announce that Professor Jennifer Whiting will be joining the faculty in January, and Thomas Berry will be joining the faculty next fall.
Congratulations to Bob Brandom!
Congratulations to Bob Brandom, who has been awarded the Anneliese Maier Forschungspreis by the Humboldt Foundation. Each year the prize is awarded to three or four people working in the Humanities and the Social Sciences. The prize amount is €250 000 (about $320 000).
Congratulations to Shawn Standefer!
Congratulations to Shawn Standefer, whose article "Solovay-type theorems for circular definitions" has been accepted for publication by the Review of Symbolic Logic.
Hilary Putnam Wins the Rescher Prize for 2015!
The Philosophy Department is pleased to announce that Hilary Putnam, Cogan University Professor Emeritus, Harvard University, is the recipient of the 2015 Nicholas Rescher Prize for Systematic Philosophy. LEARN MORE >
Congratulations to Karl Schafer!
Congratulations to Karl Schafer, who has just been promoted to the rank of Associate Professor with tenure!
Cushing and Humboldt
Giovanni Valente was recently awarded the Cushing Prize for young scholars in History and Philosophy of Modern Physics, for his essay “Local Disentanglement in Relativistic Quantum Field Theory.” He is also now the recipient of a Humboldt Research Fellowship. Congratulations Giovanni!
Special Colloquium
The department is pleased to welcome Anton Friedrich Koch (Heidelberg), who will be giving a colloquium series talk on September 19th at 1:00 on "Sellars’s Picture Theory and the Readability of Things". LEARN MORE >
Caie in Philosopher's Annual
Mike's 2013 paper "Rational Probabilistic Incoherence" has been selected as one of the ten best in philosophy by the Philosopher's Annual. Congratulations Mike! LEARN MORE >